Walk Schedules

To view the walk leader and contact details, members must log-on.

Schedule list

2017 / 18 Schedule

October

Sunday, 01 October 2017

Burren
Walking on karst limestone and green roads. 
Mullaghmore..Burren
OS51&52 

Sunday, 08 October 2017

Horses Glen. Co Kerry
Walk through secluded glacial valley deep in to Mangerton mountain. Small bit of a pull at the end of the valley to reach Mangerton North Top. Easy Pace. OS78 

Sunday, 15 October 2017

Purple & Tomies. Co Kerry
A traverse above the gap of Dunloe starting at the head of the gap we climb via Glas lough to Purple (757m) and onto Tomies before descending to the green road just north of Kate Kearneys cottage 
Torc Killarney Co Kerry
OS78. Couple of steps, forest tracks and board walk to summit to enjoy great views of Killarney. Easy pace. 

Sunday, 22 October 2017

Reeks Co Kerry
Assending via the bone onto eastern reeks and descending via the heavenly gates. OS78 
Galtymore & Glen Horseshoe. Co Tipperary
OS74 

Friday, 27 October 2017

Oct Bank Holiday in Kerry. See walks 28/29/30th
See walk details for 28/29/30th. Base Glencar Resort Hotel. 

Saturday, 28 October 2017

Caher, Carrauntoohill from Brida Valley
OS 78 
Caher from Brida Valley
Moderate walk at an easy pace. OS78 

Sunday, 29 October 2017

Knockaunattin from Ballaghbeama Pass
OS78 

Monday, 30 October 2017

Cloon Lake
OS78 

November

Saturday, 04 November 2017

Remote First Aid Course
More details nearer time 
OBriens Bridge River walk
Low level walk designed for beginners or those who havn't been out in a while and would like to get back on hills. 

Sunday, 12 November 2017

Ashford to Lough Ghe Co Limerick
OS72. Green roads, forestry track. 
Mahon Falls Comeraghs Co Waterford
OS75 

Sunday, 19 November 2017

Knockasakeen Circuit from Muskerry. Co Tipperary
OS 74. Leaving and returning to Muskry car park: forest tracks, open grassy land.The circuit will take in Knockastakeen (583m), the lower part of Galtybeg and Cush (639m). Easy pace for those that want to do a moderate walk. 
Moderate
5-5.5h
Connemara.
OS37 or Connemara Superwalker. Glencorbet horseshoe with option to take in Muckanaght depending on time/weather. Challenging hike with some steep ascents/descents with some rough ground high up. 

Sunday, 26 November 2017

Glenstal loop Co Limerick
Track, rough in places 
Reeks..Black Mare Gully
OS78. 

December

Saturday, 02 December 2017

Knockfeirnagh Co Limerick
Opportunity for beginners or anyone out for a while and looking to get back on hills . 

Sunday, 03 December 2017

Circuit of Coumshingaun. Comeraghs. Co Waterford
Some scrambling on assent. OS75 

Sunday, 10 December 2017

Galtees. Co Tipperary
Circuit of Glencush taking in Galtymore, Galtybeg and Cush. OS74 

Saturday, 16 December 2017

Christmas Walk. 12 O'Clock Hills. Co Clare.
Walk to build up appetite for Club Christmas Dinner to be held that night. 

Wednesday, 27 December 2017

Arra Mountain Loop...Turkey Buster!
Starting at Lookout above Lough Derg taking in Millennium Cross & Tountinna. Meet Tesco Express in Corbally at 10. 
Central Maunturks
Walk will be weather dependant. Contact John if interested for further details. 

January

Sunday, 07 January 2018

Galtees South Side.
Starting from Kings Yard - follow Glounreagh river to Galtee Wall - Galtymore - Black rd - Attychraan river - Kings Yard . OS 74 

Saturday, 13 January 2018

Slieve Felim way
An opportunity to walk a section of the longer Slieve Felim way which begins in Murroe co Limerick and finishes in Silvermines co Tipp. 
Easy
3.5h

Sunday, 14 January 2018

Knockmealdowns. Co Tipperary
Departing from the Vee. OS74. The Vee - Glenmoylan - Twin Lakes - Knockmealdown - Sugarloaf. Steep ground in places. 

Sunday, 21 January 2018

Galtees from South Side
Black rd to Galtymore (919m) and traversing the wall to Lyracappul (825m). Returning the same route. 

Saturday, 27 January 2018

MS2 training
MS2 over two days with Maureen OBrien. 

Sunday, 28 January 2018

Ballyhouras. Co Limerick
 
Middle Maunturks
Mainly on rock & shale 

February

Sunday, 04 February 2018

Keeper Hill
 
Boughill & Knocknacappul
Steep ground. OS78 

Sunday, 11 February 2018

Slievenuck loop. Co Tipperary
 
Circuit of Coumfea. Commeraghs. Co Waterford
Open mountain, grass and bog, small bit of rock. OS75 

Sunday, 18 February 2018

Mullaghanattin Co Kerry
OS78, Starting at Ballaghbeama gap to Mullaghanattin (773m) and descending to Tooreenafersha. Open mountain with some steep ground. 
Arra mountain circuit. Co Tipperary
OS59 

Sunday, 25 February 2018

Coumanare lakes from Conor Pass. Co Kerry
OS 70. 500m assent, 10k approx 

March

Sunday, 04 March 2018

Loghavalla farm loop. Burren. Co Clare
 
Eastern Reeks. Co Kerry
Starting at Cronins yard ...Knocknapeasta.....Maolan Bui......Cnoc an Chuillin.....Descent via Heavenly gates. OS 78 

Sunday, 11 March 2018

Commeraghs, Co Waterford
Open mountain grass & bog. Small bit of rock. OS75 

Sunday, 18 March 2018

Slieve Bearnagh from Kilbane. Co Clare
OS58 

Friday, 23 March 2018

Mountaineering Ireland Spring Meet
 

Saturday, 24 March 2018

Walk 1. MI spring gathering
 
Walk 2.MI spring gathering
 
Walk 3 MI spring gathering
 
Walk 4 MI spring gathering
 
Walk 5 MI spring gathering
 
Walk 6 MI spring gathering
 
Walk 7 MI spring gathering
 
Walk 8 MI spring gathering
 

April

Saturday, 07 April 2018

Kerry way
Kerry Way Glenbeigh to Kells. A lovely walk through Glenbeigh woods onto charming country lanes followed by a knife edge trail (part of old Butter rd ) and mountain path. OS 78 & 83 
MS1 & 2 Refresher Training
One day refresher training for anyone who previously did MS1 & 2 with Maureen OBrien 

Sunday, 08 April 2018

Knockmealdowns
 

Sunday, 15 April 2018

Galtees. Circuit of lake Muskry
Taking in Farbreaga, Greenane. Open mountain. OS74 
Moderate
5 - 5.5h
Loghavalla Farm loop. Burren Co Clare
 

Saturday, 21 April 2018

Annual Galtee Cleanup
 

4h

Sunday, 22 April 2018

Burren / Gleinagh circuit. Co Clare
 
Easy
4/4.5h

Sunday, 29 April 2018

Inis Oirr. Aran Islands
Ferry from Doolin. Fare tba. Mainly country lanes with some limestone pavement. 
Easy
4.5h
Beenoskee
glanteenassig / Binn an Guaita / beenoskee / stradbally. OS70 

May

Sunday, 06 May 2018

Knockmealdowns
 

Sunday, 13 May 2018

Mullachmore (Burren Co Clare)
Mostly very rough limestone with some scrambling on crags. Old famine road. Burren flowers guaranteed!! 
Easy
4.5h
Coomasharn Circuit. Glenbeigh
Our route takes us along the lakeshore and through the hanging valley of Coomacullen. Scrambling involved both on the ascent and again descending the arete. Height gain 832m 

Sunday, 20 May 2018

Kerry Way
Kells to Caherciveen. An easy walk through the broad Ferta valley with great views of Knocknadobar followed by birds eye view of Cahirciveen. OS 83. Note distance 17k. 
Easy
5.5h

Sunday, 27 May 2018

Brandon via Faha ridge
Moderate to difficult scrambling with some exposure on ridge. Experience of similar ground necessary. 
Liscannor to Doolin cliff walk
 

June

Friday, 01 June 2018

June Weekend away
See schedule of potential walks. Walks will be determined based on weather and group. 

Saturday, 02 June 2018

Hungry Hill. Caha Mountains
Circuit of Hungry Hill and the two corrie lakes on the east side. Open mountain with some easy whaleback rock outcrops to be negotiated. 
Barley Lake Circuit. Caha Mountains
Open mountain - fantastic views into the CoomerkaneValley. 
Esk Mountain Loop. Shehy Mountains
Waymarked loop along road, tracks and open mountain. Starting from Bonane 
Easy
3-4h
Bonane to Glengarriff, Beara Way
Option on the Esk mountain walk to walk all the way back to Glengariff along the Beara way via the National Park and the Eskamusky and Lady Bantry lookouts. 
Easy
3-4h
Gleninchaquin, Red Route
Waymarked loop along open mountain. 
Easy
3-4h
Coorycommane Loop. Shehy Mountains
Waymarked loop on open mountain and country roads. 
Easy
2-3h

Saturday, 09 June 2018

Darragh Hills
 

Sunday, 10 June 2018

Ballyvaughan to Fanore. Burren
 

Sunday, 17 June 2018

Blackrock Valley / Monabrack Galtees
OS74 

Sunday, 24 June 2018

Galtymore circuit
OS74. Walk will be easy pace over open ground, grassy and wet in parts. 

July

Sunday, 01 July 2018

Hills above lake Anascaul
lake Anascaul - Cnoc Mhaolionain - Bhanog Thuaidh - SH 383 - Lake Anascaul 

Sunday, 15 July 2018

Galtee Castle walk
Open mountain. OS74 

Sunday, 22 July 2018

Carrauntoohill
OS78. Opportunity to climb Irelandís highest mountain. Route to be determined closer to day. 

August

Saturday, 25 August 2018

SEMRA demonstration. Galtees
Demonstration by SEMRA followed by club BBQ. Full details closer to date 

Wednesday Evening Walk Schedule 2018

May

Wednesday, 09 May 2018

O Briens Bridge to Clonlara
 

Wednesday, 16 May 2018

Slieve Bearnagh
Forestry path 

3h

Wednesday, 23 May 2018

Kilseily Loop. Broadford. Co. Clare
 

Wednesday, 30 May 2018

Mullaghmore. Burren
 

June

Wednesday, 06 June 2018

Lake Muskry. Galtees
Forest and mountain track. OS74 

Wednesday, 13 June 2018

Western Ballyhouras. Carron mountain
Locally referred to as the Looby Loo walk. Meet 6pm on Dunne's car park on Childers rd or contact leader. 

Wednesday, 20 June 2018

Crag/Finley, Slieve Bearna loop
 

Wednesday, 27 June 2018

Lough Curra. Galtees
Forest track / open mountain. OS74 

July

Wednesday, 04 July 2018

Darbys Bed Walk. Galbally Co Limk
Waymarked paths, fire roads and quiet country roads with views of Galtees etc,...on fine days. 
Easy
2.5h

Wednesday, 11 July 2018

Eastern Ballyhouras
 
Easy
2.5h

Wednesday, 18 July 2018

Cush. Galtees
Open Mountain. OS74 

Wednesday, 25 July 2018

12 O Clock Hills
 

August

Wednesday, 01 August 2018

Lough Diheen. The Galtees
Forest track, open mountain. OS74 

Wednesday, 08 August 2018

Bernard Loop Anglesboro. Galtees
 

3h

Wednesday, 15 August 2018

Arra mountain loop.
 

Wednesday, 22 August 2018

Ballyhouras. Seefin
Mountain Track 

3h

Wednesday, 29 August 2018

Moylusa
 

September

Wednesday, 05 September 2018

TBA
 

Wednesday, 12 September 2018

Red Path Corbally
 

Notes